Gaels secure Minor league title

June 22nd, 2017 | News

The Enniskillen Minor team celebrating having won the Minor League Division One title.

Enniskillen 2-14

Derrygonnelly 1-10


Enniskillen Gaels secured the MFL Division One title last Saturday night at Brewster Park with victory over Derygonnelly Harps.

The game was in the balance entering the final quarter but the Gaels took control over the final 15 minutes with Matthew Dixon bagging two goals to deservedly come away with a seven point win.

The sides shared the opening eight points of the game with John Reihill (3) and Callum Jones on target for Enniskillen while Gavin McGovern (2), Aaron McGlone and Aidy McKenna registering for the Harps.

The Gaels created a number of goal scoring chances in the first half but the woodwork and Derrygonnelly goalkeeper Lee Skuce kept them out although points from Ronan Quinn and Conor Love did push them into a 0-06 to 0-04 lead.

Derrygonnelly had the last say of the half when Cian Corrigan pointed but at the break the Gaels led by a point, 0-06 to 0-05.

It continued to be a close affair in the opening period of the second half and the Harps took the lead when Gavin McGovern’s low shot found the back of the net to make it 1-05 to 0-07.

The sides then traded points with Conor Love and Matthew Dixon landing for the Gaels and Gavin McGovern and McGlone firing over for Derrygonnelly to keep the Harps one ahead.

However, Enniskillen took control of the contest with John Reihill levelling matters before Derrygonnelly were reduced to 14 men when Conor Maguire picked up a second yellow card.

Points from Jones and Reihill nudged the Gaels two in front before Dixon then rifled home two goals with clinical finishes to put eight between the sides.

The excellent Reihill and Jones also added points and although Derrygonnelly did land a couple of late points it was the Gaels who finished up 2-14 to 1-10 winners.

The Enniskillen Minor team celebrating having won another championship Minor Final.